top of page

Volvo China Coast Regatta Starts 13 Oct

Sailors are gearing up for the first major Big Boat event of the season; the Volvo China Coast Regatta which will take place from 13 to 15 October.36 boats will line up for the start in what is anticipated to be three days of great racing, showcasing Hong Kong yachting at its best.

The 36 strong fleet will compete over six divisions: IRC 0,1, 2, 3, IRC Premier and PHS. The IRC Racer 0 division includes an impressive line-up of five TP52: with four local Hong Kong teams - Sam Chan’s FreeFire, Noel Chan’s Rampage88, Robert Wiest / Victor Kuk / David Ho’s Phoenix together with the new entry for this year - Dominic Law’s Happy Go and the Philippines entry Standard Insurance Centennial 3 helmed by Emerson Villena, who will be putting their crew through their paces before joining the Volvo Hong Kong to Vietnam Race on 25 October.

IRC Racer 1 comprises of mix of Fast 40s, including Bo Wu/Lu Xinqi Kiki’s Ker 46+ Unicorn, competing against their rival Marcel Liedts’ Ker 46 Zannekin; while Stanley Tse’s Carkeek 40 Kikukei’s Dream II will debut in their first China Coast Regatta. They will be joined by two Neo boats: Stefan Fillip’s Neo 400+ Neo One and Eddy Lee’s Neo Roma 430 Next and the returning winner William Liu’s Ker 42 Custom Seawolf.

IRC Racer 2 will feature close competition amongst three Cape 31s, including last year’s divisional 2nd placed Andrew Taylor/Denis Martinet’s Capitano, which will lineup against David Kong’s Out of Africa and Randy Yeung’s Tai Chi by Simplicity. The competition will be spiced up with the inclusion of Nick Burns’ King 40 Witchcraft (2022 IRC 1 Division winner) last year’s division winner) together with other strong local contestants; Glenn Smith’s Grand Soleil 44 Wild Card, Dennis Chien’s Mat 1245 Arcturus+, James Verner’s Nightshift (2022 Division 2 winner, Albert Cheung's Bad Idea Bears on Full Tilt and Herman Wong’s FT10 Kiasu.

Many eyes will be on the six strong teams in IRC Racer 3 including Nick Southward’s Admiralty Harbour Whiskey Jack, Lowell Chang 's Dexter II, Andrew Pidden’s Juice, Hugues de Saint Germain's Ocean’s Five, Lewis Cerne's Wicked and Henning Mueller's Zesst.

This year’s IRC Premier Class comprises two boats: Peter Churchouse's Moonblue 2 and Tom Attenborough's Parnassus and eight entries will compete in the PHS class (former HKPN class) joining the weekend action. The fleet includes many recognisable names from recent editions of the regatta such as the trimaran Niccolo Manno 's Carbon 3, Ming Lou 's Coral Harbour, Patrick Kwan's DBX2, Sunny Leung 's Jibulai, Carl Wilkinson 's Lisa Elaine, Stephen Hart 's Sea Eagle, Carl Law 's Victoria and Johnson Yuen 's Zoe participating.

The IRC Racer and Premier Class divisions will be racing on 13 to 15 October and PHS Class racing on 14 to 15 October. Sailors will be competing in a variety of windward/leeward and geometric and island courses in the waters south and east of Hong Kong Island.


  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page